GETTYSBURG 1988 RULES CLARIFICATIONS

Updated 070801 by Vince Meconi (2007 Boardgame Players Association PBEM GM)

Updated 070801


A: Movement

  1. Road movement may not be used to enter enemy zones of control (ZOC). Units may use road movement when leaving enemy ZOC. Enemy ZOC also negate bridges at streams.
  2. It costs one extra movement point to enter a rough hill hex (E6, F5, and F6).
  3. Units are not required to stop upon entering enemy zones of control. They may not, however, move directly from one enemy ZOC to another.
  4. If a general unit is on an entry hex when a unit or units under his command appear, the general unit may add one extra movement factor to those units if it follows them to the end of their movement
  5. When an entering unit's entry hex is blocked by enemy units or enemy ZOC, the entering unit comes on board at the nearest board edge hex not occupied by enemy units or enemy ZOC. If two such hexes are equally near, the entering unit may choose either.
  6. When an entering unit's entry hex is blocked by friendly units who are unable to move, the entering unit comes on board at the nearest board edge hex not occupied by enemy units or enemy ZOC. If the entering unit is blocked by friendly units who are able to move, the friendly units can move to allow the entering units on board, or the entering units can cross over the friendly units.
  7. Road movement can be maintained if non-road movement is involved inside a hex. For example, movement from I5 to H5 to G6 receives the road bonus for each hex, because the non-road movement takes place completely inside hex H5. Others examples are G8 to F7, and G10 to G9 to G8.
  8. A general may not "commit suicide" by deliberately entering an opponent's ZOC.
  9. The Battle Manual, page 20, Rule 8b2, COMBAT EXAMPLE 2, Movement, Paragraph 2 is incorrect. Pegram's movement costs it 3 1/2 movement factors, not 4 1/2 as printed.

B: Stacking

  1. Two or more generals from the same side may occupy the same hex, whether or not combat units are present.
  2. Hancock's power to command any Union units on July 1 extends through Turn 8 inclusive.
  3. If Hancock's ends the Union half of turn 8 commanding units of different corps, he may remain in command of those units during the Confederate's portion of Turn 9 unless he is unable to move.

C: Regular Combat

  1. No unit in combat may have its die roll modified by more than 10.
  2. The retreat sequence is as follows.
    1. a. If possible, retreat to an adjacent hex which is not in enemy ZOC and not occupied by friendly units. The retreat is now complete.
      b. If no such hex available, retreat to an adjacent hex which is not in enemy ZOC but is occupied by friendly units. From that hex, go back to step "a"..
      c. If all retreat hexes are in enemy ZOC, if possible, retreat to one that does not contain any friendly units. The retreat is now complete.
      d. Retreat to a a hex that is in enemy ZOC and contains friendly units. From that hex, go back to step "a".
      * A retreating unit cannot reenter the hex originally occupied by it or any other unit defending in the same battle. If any step calls for that to happen, go to the next step.
      ** If following this sequence results in an "endless loop", go to the next step that would break the loop

  3. If a defeated unit's only retreat would result in overstacking, it cannot retreat and must take an additional step.
  4. The "0" on a 10-sided die represents 10 (ten)
  5. Notwithstanding Rule 4a5, which states that "An individual combat can never consist of attacking units from 2 or more hexes against defending units in 2 or more hexes," such an attack is possible if both attacking hexes are adjacent to both defending hexes. For example, units in E8 and G8 could attack units in F7 and F8 in one battle.

D: Double Range Artillery

  1. A single attacking double range artillery unit may attack more than one enemy artillery unit as long as all defending units are within double range.
  2. Artillery adjacent to and therefore engaged in regular combat with other units may not engage in double range artillery combat.
  3. Defending double range artillery gain terrain modifiers, but attacking double range artillery units do not.
  4. Double range artillery combat may not cause more than a one step loss, and there is no advance or retreat after combat.
  5. A defending double range artillery unit on a hill does not gain the terrain modifier if attacked from the same hill (i.e. Cemetery Hill)
  6. Double range artillery combat may not cause more than one step loss, and there is no advance or retreat after combat.
  7. If either the attacking double range artillery unit or the defending double range artillery unit is on a hill hex, intervening terrain (including intervening hill hexes) does not block such combat.
  8. Defending double range artillery may not add its combat factor to another defending double range artillery unit. It may only add its combat factor to a unit defending in normal combat.
  9. Two artillery units in the same hex cannot split their double range artillery combat into two battles.
  10. Double range artillery combat is not allowed at night.

F: Scoring

  1. Units voluntarily moved off the board are considered eliminated, scoring the appropriate number of Victory Points for the opposing side. Units retreated off the board, including retreats to avoid elimination or step losses, are not considered eliminated. Such retreated units score no points for the opponent if flipped. General units retreated off the board or voluntarily withdrawn may renter the game during the next night turn per the rules as written; any other units retreated off the board or voluntarily withdrawn may not reenter the game.
  2. Reinforcements never brought on the board do not count as Victory Points for either side.

F: Miscellaneous

  1. The initiative marker may be used only once in each battle.