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The following letter appeared in Avalon Hill's 

GENERAL magazine, Volume 13, Number 1, 

1976. The author was not identified, but possibly 

is Glenn Roberts whose "Fortresses" letter was 

published in Volume 12, Number 5.  

 

38. FORTIFICATIONS 

 
38.1 This is an optional rule for the Tournament 

Game of BLITZKRIEG. Fortifications are engi-

neered field emplacements for use by certain 

ground forces to beef up an area defensively. 

Their value lies chiefly in creating a defensive 

network inside enemy territory, but they may al-

so be used as an offensive starting point for a 

local battle. The use of forts will enhance the 

mobility of the offensive units while helping to 

secure captured territory. 

 

38.2 CONSTRUCTION AND OCCUPATION 

 

Each player may have as many forts as desired 

and as often as desired. Forts may be built in any 

country when needed. 

 

38.21 Forts are built on clear terrain only and 

not in an enemy's zone-of-control. Forts may be 

built on any clear coastline hex that is not an in-

vasion beach. 

 

38.22 Only infantry and artillery units may be-

come a fort. Simply turn it upside-down. Substi-

tute units of like-type may also become forts. 

 

38.23 There is no limit as to the number of forts 

built, the number of times you build a fort, or the 

number of times you build a fort with a particular 

unit. 

 

38.24 A fort cannot move in the turn of its con-

struction. However, a fort may be torn down and 

moved in the turn following its construction. A 

fort may not be torn down, moved, and rebuilt all 

in the same turn. 

 

38.25 A fort may be occupied during the same 

turn of its construction by anyone ground unit. 

The stacking rule does not apply to forts. Air 

units may not use a fort as an airbase. 

 

38.26 Airborne, Ranger, and substitute Air As-

sault units may use a fort for a helicopter assault. 

The unit must begin its turn on the fort and may 

land up to 8 hexes away. The landing zone hex is 

any land hex not in an enemy's zone-of-control. 

Unit may move only 1 hex upon landing. Airborne 

and Ranger units may not move upon landing on 

a forest or a mountain hex. Substitute Air Assault 

units may not land on a forest hex and may not 

move upon landing on a mountain hex. 

 

38.3 GROUND COMBAT 

 

A fort by itself has no combat value. However, 

the occupying unit gains certain advantages 

when on the fort. 

 

38.31 A fort doubles the defensive value of the 

occupying unit. 

 

38.32 A fortified unit is subject to the same sup-

ply rules as other units. However, a fort in an un-

reduced country may not be used to trace a sup-

ply line. A fortification itself is not a supply 

source. 

 

38.33 If the fortified unit is eliminated the fort is 

also eliminated. Otherwise, the fort ignores the 

results of the TGAT. 

 

38.34 An unoccupied enemy fort may be cap-

tured and used by the opposing player. 

 

38.35 Forts may be destroyed by any player af-

ter resolving normal combat if his unit begins its 

turn on the fort, does not move during its turn, 

and is not within an enemy's zone-of-control. 

Simply remove the fort from the board. 

 

38.36 If a fortified unit begins its turn adjacent 

to an enemy unit it must attack. The combat fac-

tor of the unit remains basic in this situation. 

 

38.4 AIR COMBAT 

 

Special conditions apply when aircraft rules are 

used. 

 

38.41 Tactical Bombing does not undouble units 

on forts behind rivers. Losses to air units are re-

solved normally. (See 30.41) 

 

38.42 Strategic Bombing of units on forts are 

resolved normally on the BBT. No ground units 
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are used and there are no losses. (See 30.42) 

 

38.43 An unoccupied fortification may be at-

tacked as an Additional Bombing Mission by TAC 

and MDM bombers only. There is no A-A fire and 

no losses to the attacker. Attack is resolved on 

the BBT. Only a blank saves the fort. Remove the 

fort from the board if destroyed.   

Editor's [Don Greenwood's] Note: Forts and Forti-

fications were not included in the redesign be-

cause of the expense of new counter sheets, both 

to Avalon Hill and to the consumer, who would 

have to buy them. But they are interesting idea 

for those interested in variants which is why 

we've printed your letter. 

 


