Introduction
to the Unofficial FAQ
There have been a lot of weird rules questions, probably
interactions that didn't come up during playtesting,
and some things which may just have been oversights. infocynic
compiled an Unofficial FAQ for Pegasus, and then one day decided
that making it a Wiki entry and combining the base game and Exodus FAQs
would be helpful. So now we're here.
Official rulebook (core)
Official rulebook (Pegasus)
Official rulebook (Exodus)
Official rulebook (Daybreak)
FAQ (all) (last update 2 September 2014)
Questions are in bold.
Official answers are in italics, with a link to the thread.
Unofficial answers appear in plain text, with a note on whose opinion(s)
they are. Sometimes no answer appears because it's too debated.
Special thanks go to all the geeks who have written excellent
responses to some of these questions, to those who have shared responses
from Corey Konieczka, Tim Uren, and Zach Tewalthomas @ FFG, to Corey, Tim, and Zach themselves
for taking the time to answer these questions, and to everyone who helps
keeps this article up-to-date.
Abbreviations
FFG: Fantasy Flight Games
OPG: Once per game (character ability)
XO: Executive Order (Leadership skill card)
As they appear in citations, "Corey, FFG" means Corey Konieczka, a designer on the base game, Pegasus, and
Exodus; and "Tim, FFG" means Tim Uren, a designer for Pegasus
and Exodus. "Zach, FFG" means Zach Tewalthomas,
employee at FFG who has been assigned to answer questions on BSG.
General
rules
Q: If an
ability has to be used
at a certain time, can players rush past that step to deny the
opportunity to use the ability? (thread)
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to infocynic) No.
Players must be given a reasonable opportunity to use abilities before
moving on to the next step. (Also see an entry under "skill
cards", below, for what happens when two players want to use the
same skill cards at the same time, or see the skill check detailed steps
outline to check for interactions of specific abilities, including character
once-per-turn and once-per-game abilities.)
Q: Can you look at which civilian ships have been destroyed? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Yes.
Q: Are drinks allowed on the table? (thread)
A: (FFG customer service, by way of Yib-Yab) No.
Q: Why is Boomer Excluded in the Official No Sympathizer Variant?
Is there a way to use her? (thread)
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to kushiel) The
decision to not use Boomer in six-player games is based in part on the
limitation of "You Are Not a Cylon" cards in the base game and
in part based on the design of her abilities. One aspect of her negative
ability is that it makes her more likely to be the Sympathizer. However
if you prefer to play the variant with a rule stating that players simply
cannot use both Baltar and Boomer in a
six-player game or a rule that the Sympathizer card is treated as a
"You Are Not a Cylon" card, there is no overwhelming reason to
not do so.
Q: Is a die roll capped at 1 and 8? For instance a character plays
Best of the Best. Someone plays a Strategic Planning and an 8 is rolled.
Do you destroy 8 raiders or 10? With Calculations can it be bumped to 11?
A: (FAQ): No. After all modifications to a die roll have been
calculated, any number greater than an "8" is treated as an
"8" and any number less than a "1" is treated as a
"1."
Q: When text instructs to destroy a basestar (e.g. rolling a 5
when using a nuke, as opposed to assigning a 3rd damage token to it), do
you straight up remove it, or do you draw 3 damage tokens?.
A: (FAQ): Remove the basestar without drawing any tokens.
However, note that when playing with the Ionian Nebula option in the
Exodus expansion, even if drawing a basestar damage token will destroy
that basestar for sure (it already has 2 hits), you should still go
through the motions to ensure the drawn damage token is not Collateral
Damage nor Damage To Personnel, 2 damage tokens that have effects that extend
beyond the destruction of the basestar.
Q: When multiple activation symbols or instructions appear on a
card (such as the Fleet Mobilization Super Crisis), how do you resolve
them?
A: (FAQ): Resolve each one separately in left-to-right order.
Q: In the base game rule book it says: "Each Cylon ship can
only be activated once on a given player’s turn." Doesn't that
totally nerf Cavil's OPG and Pegasus' By Your
Command Treachery Card?
A: (Zach, FFG, to InfoCynic) Ultimately,
the meaning across the board is simply “no more than one Cylon ship
activation per activation effect”. It is meant to say (in a rather
confusing way) that you cannot, for instance, first activate raiders in
Sector 1, moving them to Sector 2, then activate Sector 2 for the same
activation icon, and move the raiders again. (thread)
Q: When piloting a viper, when can you choose to land?
A: (FAQ): Landing a viper is a movement. It can be done as a player's
Movement Step or as a move granted by an "Executive Order"
Skill Card or by a "State of Emergency" Skill Card from the
Exodus expansion. He cannot land a viper as an action. (During
January and February of 2011, this was temporarily ruled to be "only
during your movement step.")
Q: After successfully activating the Brig location, can a
character move to Colonial One (or Pegasus), when discarding a Skill
Card? The board says that you can move to any location. (thread)
A: (rulebook) No. On page 18 of the rulebook the passing of the Brig
check is clarified as: The current player may move his character to
any space on Galactica.
(Confirmation given to ColtsFan76 here. Note that this is a reversal
of an earlier ruling given to David Goldfarb.)
Q: On a jump with FTL Control, what happens first: rolling for
population loss or choosing the destination?
A: (rulebook, page 13) The roll for population loss happens first. The
admiral only needs to make a destination choice after he knows the result
of that roll.
Q: When jumping into the sleeper-agent phase, if the chosen
destination allows the admiral to make a choice (for instance to gain
some resource), does the admiral get to see his new loyalty card before
making the choice?
A: (rulebook) No, the rulebook states that the effects of a Destination
Card are "immediately" followed when the fleet travels to a
destination. So the admiral has to make his choice before receiving a new
loyalty card.
Q: Is it possible to choose the replacement version of a character
(from Daybreak) after the execution of the original (i.e. replacment Zarek after the
execution of original Zarek) (or vica versa)?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) No.
They cannot be chosen. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: What happens if a deck empties while a player is looking at
cards from it (alternate Zarek's nessecary steps for example)?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) Decks
are empty and reshuffled even if the card(s) are only being "looked
at." This doesn't apply when looking at "the entire deck"
(such as with "Consult the Oracle".) Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Character
abilities
Base
game
Q: If Apollo uses "Alert Viper Pilot" following another
player's first Command activation, then plays XO (or State of Emergency
(Exodus)) on that same player, if the other player uses the XO (or SoE) to move, does the player formerly in command
still get a second unmanned viper activation?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic): Yes,
unless he reveals as a Cylon or (because of SoE)
is executed before that activation. Apollo's AVP ability resolves in full
immediately after the first activation, including any new actions granted
by the AVP action, such as from XO or SoE. The
player in Command does not need to declare what that activation will be
before Apollo uses his ability.
Q: If Apollo reveals as a Cylon, and he has to discard down to
three cards, does his Headstrong ability apply?
A: (Corey, FFG, on FFG's forums): His ability does NOT apply to this
[discarding down after revealing]. As soon as Lee reveals his "You
are a Cylon" card, all of his character abilities are ignored. (http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=24&efcid=1&efidt=214642)
Q: Can Adama or Chief Tyrol use their
OPG on a super crisis card? (thread)
A: (FAQ) No.
Q: How many loyalty cards does Boomer get in the sleeper-agent
phase if she is a revealed Cylon at that time? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to Orphius): Boomer
would still receive 2 cards during the Sleeper phase. (This makes
Boomer the only character whose drawback still partly functions after
revealing. Corey's decision was on the base game, but it also holds for
Pegasus. Note that an earlier ruling of Corey said that she would receive
only one, but he changed his mind. Also note that if the Exodus expansion
is used, the Exodus rulebook specifies that she draws only one. In the
Exodus rules, however, the loyalty deck never empties. The Daybreak
expansion has included this ruling in its rulebook.)
Q: If Starbuck uses her "Secret Destiny" OPG on Roslin's turn, does Roslin
get two new crisis cards to choose from? And what if she uses it on Baltar's turn: does he get an extra Delusional
Intuition draw?
A: (multiple threads): No and no, both Roslin's
and Baltar's ability refer to THEM drawing a
crisis card; when Starbuck uses her OPG, SHE draws a new crisis card. So
neither Roslin's nor Baltar's
ability activate.
Q: To what kind of choices can Helo
apply his Moral Compass? (thread)
A: (FAQ): In the answer to the question in the FAQ on how Helo's Moral Compass interacts with Apollo's Choose a
Different Path, it is clarified that Helo can
only apply his Moral Compass to change the main choice on a "Current
Player Chooses...", "Admiral Chooses...", "President
Chooses..." or "CAG Chooses..." crisis. It follows that if
there is a choice within the choice (e.g., the second option on the
Requested Resignation crisis, where the President can choose to hand over
the title and otherwise is placed in the Brig), Helo
cannot influence that choice within the choice. Furthermore, Helo must make a decision on his Moral Compass before
the choice within the choice is made.
Q: If a die is rolled without Strategic Planning, and Helo decides to use his ECO ability, can a Strategic
Planning be played on the reroll? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to InfoCynic) If
Helo is using his reroll ability and no
Strategic Planning was played for the first roll, any human may play one before
the second roll. By extension, we can assume that the same thing
holds for rerolls caused by playing Evasive Maneuvers.
Pegasus
Q: If a human player is executed with the Airlock and comes back
as Adama, can he use his OPG to take the
Airlock skill check cards?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to nbergom) As
per the order of resolving a skill check on page 16 of the rules, the
result of the skill check is resolved before discarding the Skill Cards
that were played into the check. So when Adama
comes into play, the cards have not yet been discarded. If the player has
not yet used a once-per-game ability, he would be able to use Adama's Command Authority to draw the cards into his
hand. Note that with Daybreak, this answer no longer applies, as
Daybreak introduces Miracle tokens and characters lose their Miracle
tokens when they are executed.
Q: Can Cain use Blind Jump while the FTL marker is on the first
space (which is arguably not a red space)?
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Yes.
Q: Which happens first, Caprica Six's once-per-game ability to add
cards to a skill check, or Declare Emergency?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of Twekkie) Caprica
Six's ability.
Q: How does the Prepare for Jump Step work if Cavil uses his
once-per-game ability on Caprica and plays multiple crises with the
Advance FTL symbol?
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Resolve
all the FTL icons sequentially at the end of the turn during the prepare for
jump step. If the first or second icon triggers a jump (including
possibly the New Caprica phase), the additional icons are resolved after
the jump. If playing with Kobol, if this causes
the jump after reaching distance 8+, the game immediately ends and the
humans win.
Q: Can Cavil use his OPG to infiltrate Galactica and take actions
as a human player, or uninfiltrate and take
actions as a Cylon?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to kushiel) The
actions Cavil gains by using his once-per-game ability are not lost when
he uses one of them to infiltrate or stop infiltrating. While the
abilities on Skill Cards (aside from Treachery cards) cannot be used on
revealed Cylons (which is why the second action granted by an XO is lost
once a Cylon leader becomes a "Cylon" again), the abilities on
Cavil's character sheet, on the other hand, are available to him whether
he is a Cylon or he is infiltrating as a human.
Q: How does Cavil's Primacy ability interact with the Cylon Fleet
module (from Exodus)?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to infocynic) Cavil's
ability can't be used to add or remove basestars
to the reserve board. If Cavil needs to place a basestar and none are in
supply, he takes the one from the lowest-numbered reserve board space (as
per page 14 of the Exodus rules).
Q: When playing with the Ionian Nebula (from Exodus), which
happens first, Ellen Tigh's Politically Adroit
ability or encountering an ally in her location?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to infocynic) Because
both effects happen at the same time, the current player chooses the
order.
Q: Suppose Ellen encounters an ally in her location, and meeting
that ally moves her to another location (which might happen on meeting an
ally in the Brig or Sickbay). Can she then use Adroit on a player in her
new location?
A: (thread) Considering the previous answer, common
sense says "yes". She can decide to first use Adroit in her
current location, then meet an ally, or first meet an ally and then use
Adroit in the location where she has moved to on meeting the ally. Of
course, she can only use Adroit once, and only meet one ally on her turn.
Q: Can Caprica Six and/or Dee use their once-per-game abilities to
add additional cards to a crisis above the limits normally imposed by
being in the Brig or Detention, or by being a Cylon leader (Six only)? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Yes,
you can use these abilities while in the Brig.
Q: If both basestars are on the board,
can Cavil use his Primacy ability to add raiders and a civilian ship
WITHOUT removing a basestar first? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Yes.
Adding or removing basestars is optional.
Q: Must Cain always reach an actual count of 10 when the Admiral's
Quarters are activated to use her continuous ability? For example, if
Cylon Hatred or Jury Rigged or Declare Emergency were used, could the
total of the check be less than 10 and still allow her to execute the
target?
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic): No,
in order to use her ability, they must reach at least 10 for the check.
This is unaffected by abilities like Jury Rigged and Declare Emergency.
Q: If the "Code Blue" crisis fails, Dee is the current
player, she's human, and morale is 3 (before applying the effects of the
crisis), is the replacement character placed in the Brig or in that
character's starting location? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of DaveD): Apply
the effects in the order listed. (I suspect that some will still
question what that means, so I retain my original answer: first lose the
morale. At the loss of this morale, Dee is executed, the new character is
placed on the board (wherever is appropriate), titles are passed, the new
character is still the current player (that hasn't changed) and therefore
is moved to the brig.)
Q: If Dee uses Communications during the New Caprica phase, can
she look at the civilian ships that are locked and/or prepared, even
though she can't move them? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Dee
can only look at ships in space areas.
Q: Can Dee use interrupts drawn from her Fast Learner ability? The
ability says 'before making a Skill Check' and interrupts say 'Play
before cards are added'.
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to Danath) Yes,
if Dee uses her Fast Learner ability to add Skill Cards to her hand
before a skill check, if any of those cards are playable before adding
cards to a skill check, she would be able to use them on that same skill
check.
Q: If Dee is chosen as a character after execution, and morale is
already 2 or less, what happens?
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) She
is immediately executed. (In effect there is no effect except to pick
another new character so nothing really changes.)
Q: If an execution reduces morale to 2, when does Dee get
executed?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) If
morale is reduced to 2 by means of a human's execution, fully resolve that
execution first, then resolve Dee's execution. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: When Ellen Tigh draws her extra cards from her movement
ability, do they have to come from her skill set? (thread)
A: (Core Rulebook, Page 12) Yes. Unless an ability explicitly says
otherwise, you have to stay within your skill set.
Q: Can Ellen Tigh use her OPG ability to take the Admiral title
while in the Brig?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of DCAnderson): No.
Q: When Ellen has used Manipulative to take the Presidency, and
she becomes President that turn in another way (e.g., by using
Administration), must she hand the title to the previous owner when her
turn ends? (thread)
A: (FAQ): Yes. The FAQ says that if Ellen no longer holds the Presidency
at the end of her turn, she cannot hand it back. However, in the case
described she does hold the Presidency at the end of her turn, ergo, she
has to hand it to the previous owner of the title. Note that in principle
there is nothing against someone using Administration to elect the
current President, but it is a useless action, even in the case of Ellen
being temporary President.
Q: If Helo uses his reroll ability after
"Calculations" has been played, does the modifier carry over to
the reroll?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of Twekkie) Yes.
Q: Can Helo be executed while he is
"Stranded"? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to coltsfan76): Yes (by any means: including
crisis, Airlock (Pegasus), or ally (Exodus). (He cannot be brigged or be sent to Sickbay while Stranded, though.)
Q: If Kat uses her "Hot shot" ability to discard a skill
card instead of rolling a die, when shooting at a basestar with
structural damage, does the +2 from structural damage apply?
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) No,
because this is not a die roll.
Q: If Kat gives someone an Executive Order, can she use her
"Hot shot" ability on an action that her XO target takes (e.g.,
launching a scout)? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) When
a player plays a skill card, quorum card or activates a location that
requires a die to be rolled, THAT PLAYER rolls the die (not the current
player). Basically, this means that if Kat gives a player an Executive
order, she cannot use her Hot shot ability (which only works when she
rolls the die). However, FTL Control is an exception, as the
rulebook explains that for FTL activation the current player rolls the
die. So Kat can use her Hot shot ability when someone else activates FTL
on an XO by her.
Q: When Laura Roslin attacks occupation
forces on New Caprica, does this count as activating the location she's
currently in? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) No,
this does not count as activating a location.
Q: If Roslin uses her once-per-game
ability to resolve a Quorum Card while on New Caprica, does she risk
going to Detention? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to abraxus_smith) No,
she is not in danger of being placed in Detention. This ability is not
the same as playing a Quorum card from her hand for a number of reasons.
To be clearer, the title card should really say "When you play a
Quorum card from your hand...
Q: Does Zarek's drawback include Cylon
characters while on New Caprica?
A (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Zarek cannot [activate] locations containing
any character (whether human or Cylon). This can seriously restrict him
on New Caprica, and he will need to work with his teammates to have
options. (Note that Corey said move in the original e-mail, when he
obviously meant activate, since Zarek does not
have a restriction on moving.)
Q: If the Engine Room is used on Roslin's
turn, are both the crises she draws treated as having a jump icon, or
only the first one she draws?
A (Fantasy Flight support): For the
purposes of using the Engine Room during Roslin's
turn, whichever card Roslin chooses to resolve
is treated as "the next Crisis Card drawn."
Exodus
Q: Can Gaeta reroll an FTL roll made on Helo's
turn, if Helo has already rerolled it (and vice
versa)?
A: (FAQ) After the die is rolled either character’s player may reroll
the die. If both wish to, the current player (in this case, the player
who is playing Karl “Helo” Agathon),
decides who has the first opportunity to reroll the die. Note that if one
of the two players rerolls the die, the other will still have an
opportunity to reroll the die after that, even if he did not state his
intention to do so previously. (thread)
Q: Does Tory get to draw 2 skill cards from her Adaptable when a
Quorum card is played through the President's Office location, Roslin's OPG (Skilled Politician), or Aaron Doral's ally
card?
A: (FAQ) Yes. Each Quorum Card has an action listed on it. Anytime
that action is resolved, Tory Foster may use her “Adaptable” ability.
Note that in a case such as the “Assign Mission Specialist” Quorum Card,
the “Adaptable” ability only applies when the card is given to another
player, not when that player uses it (since the latter is not an action).
(http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/6118356#6118356)
(See Pegasus for Cavil vs. the Cylon Fleet. See Official FAQ for
Gaeta on New Caprica.)
Daybreak
Q: Does Hoshi need to discard to use Movement abilities from the
Pegasus expansion?
A: (FAQ) Yes. Tim adds: Any limitation or requirement
involved in the use of actions of a particular type also apply to the use
of Movement abilities of that same type. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Can Hoshi use Dutiful while using his Organized OPG to gain an
additional activation?
A: (FAQ) Yes. The three locations he chooses when using
"Organized" must all be different from each other, but each
time he activates "Command," "Communications," or
"Weapons Control," he can use "Dutiful" to discard a
Skill Card and activate it again. Note that Dutiful can be used only
once per turn, so if Hoshi activates, for instance, Communications and
Weapons Control with his Organized ability, he can only use Dutiful for
one of them. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: When Hoshi uses Organized, does he need to choose all three
locations to activate at the start (like the Basestar Bridge), or can he
choose each location after he activated the previous one?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) The
Basestar Bridge is the exception, not the rule, so Hoshi can decide after
each activation, like with Command. Follow-up question is whether he
can continue activating locations if he lands in the Brig during one of
them. Common sense says yes: he cannot be in the Brig when he starts
using Organized, but if he lands in the Brig during the process he can
continue using it (and perhaps activate the Brig itself as one of his
activations). Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: Can Hoshi pick the Brig as part of Organized?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) Hoshi
must always choose exactly 3 locations, he cannot choose less. He can
choose Brig/Detention if not there; if he does, run the check as normal.
If the check is passed, Hoshi moves to any location on Galactica (NC for
Detention); if the check is failed nothing happens. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: Does alternate Zarek's Nessecary Steps apply to his starting mutiny draw?
A: (FAQ) Yes. When he draws the Mutiny Card required by his
"Disreputable" ability, he draws two Mutiny Cards, keeps one,
and places the other on the bottom of the deck. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Can base Apollo start the game in an assault raptor?
A: (FAQ) Yes. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Can Hot Dog use Memento after a population loss has been
prevented by a Preventative Policy?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) "No.
Hot Dog's ability is triggered by population being reduced. A loss of
zero does not reduce population." Re: Questions we want answered
Q: When can Athena's "For Love" be used?
A: (FAQ) Athena can use her “For Love” ability any time a player
discards a Skill Card for any reason, with the following exceptions:
— When a player discards down to his/her hand limit.
— When resolving a Super Crisis.
— When a character discards a skill card to resolve an ability on
his/her character sheet. This includes discards caused by Kat's "Hot
shot" ability, Hoshi's "Dutiful" ability, and Anders's
"Star Player" ability. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
The answer was clarified as the restrictions being limited to 'positive
abilities', i.e., For Love can be used to counter Tigh's
Alcoholic, Roslin's Terminal Illness, and
Hoshi's Reluctant.
Note: The FAQ's answer is an extension of an earlier answer given by Tim,
which only talked about hand limit and super crisis.
Q: Can Athena use "For Love" to allow someone with no
cards to move between ships?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) You
can't try to move without a card and hope that Athena will love you.
She's just not that into you. Tim joked that you could step out of
the airlock and hope that she shows up in a raptor to rescue you, but if
she doesn't, you're executed. (He emphasized that was just a joke and in
no way a real answer!) Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: How does alternate Apollo's Choose a Different Path interact
with original Helo's Moral Compass?
A: (FAQ) "Choose a Different Path" creates an additional
option when resolving a "President Chooses," "Admiral
Chooses," "CAG Chooses," or "Current Player
Chooses" Crisis Card. Note that the alternate version of Apollo
cannot use "Choose a Different Path" after Helo
has used "Moral Compass." Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Does D'Anna have to discard down to 3
cards if she uses Visions while in the Brig?
A: (FAQ) No. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Can Doral use his miracle ability to move to the Resurrection
Ship to immediately draw a super crisis?
A: (FAQ) No. Players cannot move to a hazardous location unless
specifically instructed to do so. Using the "Meticulous"
ability replaces the normal rules that instruct players to move to the
Resurrection Ship. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: Can alternate Baltar reveal outside
the Brig?
A: (FAQ) No, except if players are using the Pegasus and/or Exodus
expansions and he is executed. Zach adds: When the Support
version of Gaius Baltar reveals as a Cylon
while in the brig, his "You Are a Cylon" card is resolved as
printed. Any ability or effect listed after the text "If you are not
in the brig," is not resolved. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ
Q: If prompted to draw a treachery card and a mutiny card at the
same time from a Personal Vices, can alternate Apollo discard that
treachery card as part of the 2 cards for his Moral Dilemma?
A: (Zach T, FFG, to infocynic) The
treachery card is drawn first, so Nupollo can
discard it for his Moral Dilemma. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: Can alternate Helo use his No One
Gets Left Behind ability on the final jump?
A: (Zach T, FFG, to infocynic) Daybreak
Helo can't use his ability because there's no
Remove Ships step during the final jump. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Daybreak
/ New Caprica
Q: What happens if Athena uses "Resolute" on New
Caprica?
A: (FAQ) She can choose either version of board spaces. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: How does Doral's miracle ability work on New Caprica?
A: (FAQ) He ends his Infiltration, moves to any New Caprica Location,
and then takes another action. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: How does Romo's Miracle ability work
on New Caprica before Galatica returns?
A: (FAQ) It works as described on his character sheet when he is not
on New Caprica. When he is on New Caprica, he instead moves a character
in “Detention” to any New Caprica location and takes all of that player’s
Skill Cards. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: And after Galatica returns?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) If
Romo is on Galatica,
it works as described on the character sheet. If Romo
is on New Caprica, the previous answer applies. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: How do abilities that activate locations work before Galatica returns?
A: (FAQ) Until Galatica is back, you only
activate NC locations, so no abilities that activate Galactica locations
work, and abilities that let you choose locations can only NC locations.
Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Skill
cards
All
games
Q: If a player is entitled to draw cards that must come from
within their skill set (e.g., Ellen Tigh's
continuous ability), can that player draw more cards of a single type
than he or she could draw at the beginning of his or her turn (e.g.,
could Ellen draw 2 treachery)? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of coltsfan76): Skill set ONLY includes type for
this, not number. Baltar's skill set includes
only the 4 printed on his sheet, not the extra card he may draw after
seeing a crisis. The NUMBER limits matter at the start of the game when
selecting your initial hand.
Q: Do characters with choices in their skill sets make the choice
before seeing any cards or only before seeing any of the split set? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of coltsfan76): Before seeing any of their cards.
(This came up because of a poorly worded section in the Pegasus rulebook,
which seemed to contradict the original rulebook.)
Q: What is defined as "at the same time" for interrupt
cards? Literally at the same moment, or is there a timing window? (http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=24&efcid=1&efidt=204630)
A: (Corey, FFG, FFG forum) If multiple players try to play a card
that has the same timing window (for example "Before Resolving a
Skill Check"), the current player would decide the order in which
they are resolved. If, as a result, the second card can no longer be
played, it is returned to its owners hand without effect (like in your
reckless example). Note that this ruling is now included in the
Daybreak rulebook.
Base
game
Q: If an XO'd player activates a board
location requiring a skill check, who decides the target: Current Player, or XO'd Player? (thread))
A: (Corey, FFG, to mainmandetroit) The
player who was given the XO.
Q: When an XO'd player starts a skill
check, who
plays first into the Check, left of the XO'd
player, or left of the Current Player? (thread))
A: (Corey, FFG, to mainmandetroit) Left
of the Current Player.
Pegasus
Q: Are the "Investigative Committee" cards included with
Pegasus intended to replace the cards in the base game if you're not
playing with the Pegasus expansion? (numerous
threads)
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of coltsfan76) Officially, they are not intended
for use in the base game, but you may play however you wish.(Personally,
I mixed in the Pegasus components and wouldn't play without them, except
I don't always use NC or the Cylon Leaders, so the new ICs are here to
stay in my copy! I find it a lot more interesting not knowing exactly how
much destiny has to help. You can always use "Guts and
Initiative" to stop destiny.)
Q: Does the "Special Destiny" Treachery card allow Cylon
players to draw a treachery card? (thread)
A: (Official rules) The rules only say Cylons are immune to some effects
of crisis cards. This is not a crisis; therefore yes, they must draw the
card.
Q: If a Cylon Leader is infiltrating and receives an Executive
Order or uses a Critical Situation card, can he stop infiltrating for his
first action and still receive a second action (i.e., draw a super crisis
or use an action on his character sheet)? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, in this thread) No, they don't get a second action.
Q: Can any player play a Major Victory card, or only the player
who made the kill? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of coltsfan76): The player playing the card must
be the one who killed the appropriate target.
Q: If multiple cards with Reckless Skill Check effects are played
into a skill check, what order are they resolved in?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of DaveD): Current
player chooses.
Q: If someone plays "Run Interference" and Scar is in
their sector, what happens?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of coltsfan76): Scar only counts as one raider for
this card. Scar and up to 3 other raiders could be stopped.
Q: Can you discard multiple "Max Firepower" cards to
continue rerolling against an occupation force?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of Twekkie): Yes.
Q: Can Preventative Policy be used to prevent the loss of
resources during the final jump away from New Caprica?
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Yes.
Q: What happens when Sabotage is played on a human player's turn,
when Pegasus is in play?
A: (Tim, FFG, to Hannibal Rex) If a Cylon player plays Sabotage on
a human player's turn, the human player chooses whether the damage token
is drawn from the pool of Galactica damage tokens or the pool of Pegasus
damage tokens.
Q: Suppose the humans have failed Bomb on Colonial One. Now
suppose that a human gets executed and chooses to come back as Zarek or Roslin, who start
on Colonial One. (Either the Kobol objective is
being used, or New Caprica has not yet been reached.) Where do they
start?
A: (Tim, FFG, to David Goldfarb) Start them in the Hangar Deck.
Q: If a character discards a Treachery card to move to another
game board, and a Cylon uses Sabotage, and the location he is moving to
is damaged, what happens?
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) The
correct order is: Discard with intent to move -> Sabotage -> Damage
Galactica -> Moves player to location. Thus, the player arrives in the
damaged location but is not sent to sickbay. If the location the
character is moving FROM is damaged, the player winds up in sickbay
instead.
Q: If a character discards Treachery to move from Galactica to
Pegasus, and a Cylon uses Sabotage, and Pegasus gets destroyed by that,
what happens?
A: (thread) As the character's move is no longer
legal after the Sabotage, he does not move, and his Movement step ends.
(See character abilities for Helo vs.
Calculations)
Exodus
Q: If a player plays "State of Emergency" and executes
another player, does the executed player still get the move or action
(possibly as a a newly-revealed Cylon or as a new character)?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) Yes.
Q: Can XO or Critical Situation (Pegasus) be played in the same
turn as "State of Emergency"?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) Yes.
Q: If a player plays "State of Emergency" and is
executed (or reveals as a Cylon) before the SoE
has fully resolved, do the other players still continue to gain their
moves or actions?
A: (FAQ) Yes. Once the card has been played, its action will be
resolved completely, even if the current player is executed or revealed
as a Cylon. This is different from an “Executive Order” Skill Card which,
once played, is not resolved completely if its target reveals himself as
a Cylon. In this case, the player does not gain the second action
provided by the card because, as a Cylon player, he may no longer be
targeted by an “Executive Order.”
Q: If "Red Tape" and "Establish Network" are
in the same check, what happens?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) Red
Tape only checks the printed values of the cards.
Q: If "Red Tape" and "Trust Instincts" are in
the same check, what happens?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) The
current player chooses one to resolve first. If you resolve Trust
Instincts first, the 5s and 6s revealed by that will be discarded by Red
Tape. If you resolve Red Tape first, any 5/6 drawn by Trust Instincts
will NOT be discarded.
Pegasus
/ Exodus combinations
Q: When Exodus and Pegasus are both used, what happens if
"State of Emergency" is played and a Cylon activates the Caprica
location to play a Crisis Card? Specifically, what is the resolution
timing for the card text and possible jump icons?
A: (Tim, FFG, to pseudotheist, selwyth) When a Cylon player uses the
Caprica location to play a Crisis Card, resolve all of the text on the
card during that action. However, as Corey's previous answer indicates,
the prepare for jump icon is not resolved until the Prepare for Jump step
at the end of the turn (even if it is not the Cylon player's turn, as
would be the case when a State of Emergency card is played). Each icon
from all of the Crisis Cards played throughout the turn is resolved one
at a time and If an icon triggers a jump (including possibly the New
Caprica phase),
any additional icons are resolved after the jump. If playing with Kobol, if this causes the jump after reaching
distance 8+, the game immediately ends and the humans win.
Q: What happens to the cylon ship activations
for crises played from Caprica during a State of Emergency?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) When
multiple activation icons appear in one turn (e.g., by means of
infiltrating Athena and/or State of Emergency, actually I think this
requires SoE), they are processed at the
"activate Cylon ships" step of the turn, in the order in which
they were drawn. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: If the Cylon Genocide skill check is passed or the Leoben ally's Benevolent ability is used to destroy
Cylon ships (including basestars), can the
current player play Major Victory?
A: (Tim, FFG, to selwyth) In
both of those cases, the current player would not be able to play a Major
Victory card.
Daybreak
Q: What happens if Zarek (Political
Leader) plays "Unorthodox Plan" to activate one of those
locations with a character occupying it? Does Convicted Criminal weakness
still count?
A: (BGG users) "Consensus is Zarek
cannot activate those such locations." thread
Q: What happens if more cards are added to a check with "All
Hands on Deck" after it has been resolved
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) "It
adds one to the total strength for each zero-strength card in the check
during the "Total Strength" step, even if more cards were added
since the effect was resolved." Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Can "Change of Plans" be played after Political
Prowess or Boomer's OPG?
A: (FAQ) Yes. Tim says: "If Political Prowess or
Boomer's "Mysterious Intuition" Ability is used to make a check
pass, "Change of Plans" may be played to change the pass
result." Re: Questions we want answered
Q: How does "Change of Plans" interact with Cain's
Intolerant ability?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) These
occur at the same time (they are both changing the pass result). Current
player determines the order. If CoP goes
second, no execution and humans draw 2. If CoP
goes first, execution and no human draw. "Before the current player
chooses the order, the player who wishes to play "Change of
Plans" has the opportunity to return the card to his hand instead."
Re: Questions we want answered
Q: What happens if Quick Thinking and Establish Network are in the
same check?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) Quick
thinking looks at the printed value of the card. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: What happens if "All Hands on Deck" is removed by
"Quick Thinking" after it's ability
has been resolved?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) All
Hands on Deck and Quick Thinking are in the check. Current player chooses
to resolve AHOD, then QT, picking up AHOD. Remaining 0's DO still have +1, as you'd
expect. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: Does "Negotations" prevent
Cylon ship placements (e.g., Cavil's primacy, setup on a Cylon attack
crisis, etc.)? What about centurions?
A: (FAQ) It does not prevent the placement of Cylon ships during the
turn it was played, but it does prevent the activation of centurions.
Re: Questions we want answered
Q: What counts as "Choosing to discard" for Dradis Contact or Bait?
A: (FAQ) Any time a player discards one or more Skill Cards, he is
considered to have chosen the cards unless he was either instructed to
discard them randomly (as a result of Apollo’s “Headstrong” ability, for
example) or instructed to discard all of his Skill Cards (including as a
result of Tigh’s “Alcoholic” ability). Note
that if a player is instructed to discard a specific number of Skill
Cards, they are always considered to have been chosen by the player. Even
in cases where the player only had that number of Skill Cards or fewer in
his hand, the player would have to draw a Mutiny Card for discarding a “Dradis Contact” or “Bait” Card. If a player has
already drawn a Mutiny Card during this turn as a result of discarding
one of these Skill Cards, he does not draw another Mutiny Card. Re: Questions we want answered (see Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered) if
you'd like an additional explanation on why this is the rule)
Q: Can Dog Fight be used to remove a card on New Caprica before Galatica returns
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) No,
since you cannot choose to damage a viper. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: How many skill cards does a player draw for 'Install Upgrades'
if the check results in a partial pass?
A: (Zach, FFG, to infocynic) Zero.
Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ
Expansion
modules
Pegasus
board (Pegasus)
Q: Does the "structural damage" token on a basestar
affect shots made at it by Pegasus CIC? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic): They
affect die rolls and therefore affect CIC rolls against it.
Q: Can Evasive Maneuvers be used to reroll the activation of Main
Batteries if it caused damage to a viper? (thread)
A: No, the damage to the viper is not caused by an attack, it is
collateral damage.
New
Caprica (Pegasus)
Q: What happens to a Cylon who is executed on New Caprica?
(many threads)
A: (Pegasus rules) Any effect which would send a character to the
Resurrection Ship while Galactica is not in orbit sends them to the
Medical Center instead.
Q: How do Cylon Leaders work on New Caprica? Can they start/stop
infiltrating? What actions do they take? (many threads)
A: (Pegasus rules): A leader who is infiltrating at the start of the
NC phase is a human player and moved to Resistance HQ with the other
humans. He takes human actions (and draws a crisis). He may, as an
action, stop infiltrating and go to the medical center (unless Galactica
has returned, in which case he goes to the Resurrection Ship). A leader
who was NOT infiltrating is moved to Occupation Authority. He or any
leader who stops infiltrating takes Cylon actions. There is no way to
START infiltrating if you did not begin the NC phase infiltrating or
resume infiltrating if you stop, until Galactica returns.
Q: Once Galactic returns to orbit during the New Caprica phase,
could a Cylon still play "Bomb on Colonial One," even though
Colonial One is not in play? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Yes,
the -2 morale would still apply if the check fails.
Q: If a Cylon leader is in Detention when the Admiral ends the
game by jumping away from New Caprica, is he executed? Does this mean he
no longer counts as being infiltrated (or for that matter, in detention)
for the purposes of his agenda? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Yes,
he is executed, and therefore no longer infiltrating for the purposes of
his agenda.
Q: If you activate Occupation Authority (Cylon) when there are no
forces on the board, what happens? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of DCAnderson): Two are
added to the first location.
Q: When you activate Occupation Authority (Cylon) when there are
two or more forces on the board, do you move only 1 (as the board says)
or all (as the rules say)? (http://www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=24&efcid=1&efidt=188667thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of DCAnderson): The
board overrides the rulebook here, and only 1 force is activated. One
additional force is then placed on the Occupation Authority square.
Q: When the New Caprica phase starts, are players in the Brig
moved to Resistance HQ? (thread)
A: (Pegasus Rulebook, page 13): All human players (and only humans
can be in the Brig, Cylon leaders count as human players) go to
Resistance HQ.
Q: Where can a player who passes the check in Detention move to? (thread)
A: (FAQ): Any location on New Caprica.
Q: If civilian ships would be put on the board after Galactica
returns from a treachery card or Super Crisis, where do the ships come
from? (various threads)
A: (original rulebook, page 28): The ships are in play, and subject
to component limitations. They can't be moved.
Q: What can and can't you do in Detention?
A: (Pegasus rules and comments from Corey, most by way of Twekkie)
- CAN
- (must) draw a
crisis and activate ships and prepare for jump.
- use any character abilities, including
Ellen's, Six's, and Dee's OPG, except Apollo Alert Viper Pilot and
Kat's OPG.
- play Quorum cards (remember to roll the die).
- take any action from your hand, character
sheet, title card, or attempt to escape.
- stop infiltrating (see above for how this
works).
- be Admiral (or CAG in Exodus).
- order the final jump (but you will be executed).
- play movement
abilities.
- CAN'T
- move from the
spot except by passing the check, stopping infiltrating, being
executed, or passing a crisis which specifically releases someone
from Detention.
Q: Can you use the Admiral's Quarters location on someone in Detention
(e.g., to take the Admiral title from them by moving them to the brig)?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of Twekkie) While
it would be a legal action, it would not move them to the Brig. Any
effect which would move a character on New Caprica to the Brig instead
moves them to detention.
Ionian
Nebula (Exodus)
Q: Can revealed Cylons be chosen by ally card/crossroads abilities
that say "player" (not "human player")?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to infocynic): Yes,
but not if the ability involves choosing someone to send to the Brig.
Also note that Helena Cain's ally card's "execute" ability has
errata: you may only choose a human player to execute.
Q: Is Trauma discarded face-up before returning to the pool (for
instance, when an ally is on a location that is damaged or when a
character meets Doc Cottle who has a
Benevolence token)?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to Danath): If a trauma token is discarded
from a card without being resolved, as in both of the cases you
described, it is returned to the pool of unused trauma tokens face down
without being revealed
Q: If a player starts his turn in a location with an ally, plays
Critical Situation (Pegasus), and gains the ability to leave that
location by use of his action (e.g., Brig action, State of Emergency, or
Hangar Deck), does he encounter the ally in his previous location? What
if his new location contains an ally?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to infocynic): Critical
Situation happens during the movement step; encountering allies happens
at the end of that phase. Resolve any action granted by Critical
Situation fully (including all players taking the benefit from State of
Emergency if appropriate), then check for allies present in the current
player's (possibly new) location. In the special case of Gaeta using Coup
from the Brig, he is Admiral before he encounters any ally in Command.
Q: How Apollo’s “Alert Viper Pilot”
ability is resolved during Battle of the Ionian Nebula setup phase?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, thread): He
can pilot one of the vipers and immediately take any action available to
him. Specifically this happens between B. and C. of the "Set Up Battle of the Ionian Nebula" step. In
other words: setup the battle / Apollo takes an
action / start Crossroads phase.
Cylon
Fleet (Exodus)
Q: If a Crisis or other game effect says to put a civilian ship in
a specific location, does the CAG choose where to place them instead?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to infocynic): No.
The CAG only chooses when there is no location specified.
Q: If all humans are in the Brig, who gets the CAG title?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to ackmondual): See
the official FAQ and follow the same rules as for the Admiral title.
Q: If you activate Cylon ships by means other than an icon (e.g.,
Cylon Fleet location or By Your Command [Pegasus]), do you follow all
normal rules, including using the Reserve Board and possibly advancing
the pursuit marker, as if it were an
icon?
A: (Tim, FFG, to conedguy): Yes.
Q: If a player uses the Cylon Fleet (Cylon location) to launch 2
raiders and 1 heavy raider from each basestar, while no basestars are in play, and the Cylon Fleet board
(from Exodus) is in use, what happens?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic): Absolutely
nothing. The pursuit marker does not advance.
Q: When choosing actions at the basestar bridge, do you choose
both, and then resolve them 1 at a time, or choose-resolve-chose-resolve?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic): You
choose both actions at the same time and then resolve them one at a time.
Q: If activating raiders (or heavy raiders) and there are none on
the main board and none in supply (i.e., all are on the reserve board),
and there is at least one launch-capable basestar on the main board, what
happens?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic): Treat
this as a 'placement' event and pull ships one-at-a-time from the
lowest-numbered sector on the reserve board until enough ships have been
placed. Do not advance the pursuit track.
Q: If resolving a cylon ship activation
and nothing happens due to there being only one basestar on the main game
board and it having damaged weapons (Activate Basestars)
or hangars (Activate Raiders - no raiders on main board, Activate Heavy
Raiders - no heavies on main board, Launch Raiders), what happens?
A: (Tim, FFG, to conedguy): Nothing
happens. thread The
reason this works (or doesn't) is that you didn't reach "nothing
happens, so do pursuit track stuff." You reached "basestars fire" for example, and then a token overrides that
command, but by that point, it's too late to back up and reach
"nothing happens."
(See Character abilities :
Pegasus for Cavil's primacy ability and how it (doesn't) interact with
this board.)
Mutiny
(Daybreak)
Q: What happens if original Helo
receives too many Mutiny cards while Stranded?
A: (FAQ) He discards down to one Mutiny Card (or two, if he’s the
Mutineer), but does not move to the “Brig.”' Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Can Build Nuke be played after Unauthorized Usages?
A: (FAQ) Yes. When using the Exodus expansion, any time players are
instructed to remove one or more nuke tokens from the game, place them
adjacent to the board instead. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: How does Unauthorized Usage work with the Cylon Fleet Board?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) Target
a space area using the rules on the Exodus Admiral card. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Can a player play Peaceful Resistance while in the Brig, or
while the Admiral is in the Brig?
A: (FAQ) Yes to both, but in both cases the player who played the
card remains in the “Brig.” Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Can Violent Protests be played while the President is in
Sickbay or the Brig?
A: (FAQ) Yes. If the President is in the “Brig,” he does not move.
Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Can Kat use both her Hot shot ability and the bonus from
"Send a Message"?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) No.
The bonus on "Send a Message" only applies if she makes a die
roll. She can either make the die roll at +2 or replace the die roll with
her "Hot shot" ability. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Does the Mutineer draw a Mutiny card if the Engine Room is
used?
A: (FAQ) Yes. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: What happens if a player targetted by
the Airlock draws a Mutiny card and is sent to the Brig before the check
resolves?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) "The
difficulty is lowered. Players pass or fail based on the difficulty
during the "Determine Results" step. The difficulty can change
between the start of the skill check and that point, as in the case of
playing a "Declare Emergency" card." Re: Questions we want answered
Q: What happens if there are multiple crisis cards with a jump
symbol on the Mutineer's turn?
A: (FAQ) He draws one Mutiny Card. The Mutineer draws a Mutiny Card
each time he resolves one or more “prepare for jump” icons during the
“Prepare for Jump” step of his turn. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Who gets to pick the cards drawn when "Ruined
Reputation" is played?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) The
targeted player. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Demetrius
(Daybreak)
Q: What happens if there are too few cards left when activating
the Captain's Cabin?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) Start
with the player who activated the location and proceed clockwise. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: What happens to the "Activate Cylon Ships" step on
turns when a Mission was attempted?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) The
step still occurs, so Simon can use his OPG. The same is true for a
player's turn while he's in the Brig. Re: Questions we want answered
Q: Can Support the People or Character Abilities that don't affect
the ability of a check be used on Missions?
A: (FAQ) No. Tim adds: No character abilities that interact
with skill checks can be used while resolving the check on a Mission Card
(except those negative abilities that restrict the number of cards that
may be played, such as in the case of Gaeta, Cally,
or Doral). Re: Questions we want answered
Q: When does the distance from a passed Mission take effect?
A: (Daybreak rules, page 15) Immediately. The card remains on top of
the Active Mission space as a reminder that no additional missions can be
attempted until the next jump, but the distance applies immediately, and
may trigger the sleeper agent phase.
Crisis
and Super Crisis cards
All
games
Q: What defines (or who decides that) a particular effect of a
crisis card is negative (since Cylons ignore negative abilities)? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic): The
Cylon may choose to apply any negative effect he desires, for whatever
reason. Each Cylon may make this choice independently.
Q: The Pegasus rules don't mention that Cylon players skip the
"Activate Cylon Ships" step. Do they still skip it?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of Twekkie): Cylon
players (including non-infiltrating Cylon leaders) always skip this step.
Q: If a Cylon character is executed during the resolution of a
crisis on his or her turn, what happens to the prepare for
jump (and activate cylon ships, in the case of
an infilitrating leader) symbols?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of nbergom): The
turn ends immediately and the rest of the symbols on the card are ignored.
Q: How exactly is the timing of the interactions of character
abilities, skill check abilities, and interrupts during the handling of a
crisis? (thread)
A: The sequence of events is as follows:
1. Draw Crisis Card, taking into account Roslin's
"Religious Visions"
2. Read Crisis Card
3. Starbuck’s "Secret Destiny"
4. Baltar’s "Delusional
Intuition"
5. Current Player Chooses, taking into account Tory's
"Amoral"
6. Lee Adama's "Choose a Different
Path"
7. Helo’s "Moral Compass"
8. Boomer’s "Mysterious Intuition"
9. Political Prowess
10. Dee's "Fast Learner" (if she decides to add the cards
to the skill check, set them aside for the moment), Chief of Staff,
Arbitrator, Cylon Hatred, Friends in Low Places, Investigative Committee,
Scientific Research, Restore Order, A Second Chance and/or one reckless
interrupt (Support the People, At Any Cost, Guts & Initiative, Jury
Rigged). If Restore Order is played, none of the reckless interrupts can
be played and vice versa. If Support the People is played, eligible
players receive two cards and then more interrupts can be played (but no more
reckless interrupts, of course). If there is a conflict (e.g., two
players want to play a reckless interrupt, or two players want to play an
Investigative Committee), the current player decides which card gets
played (the rejected card remains in its owner's hand)
11. Destiny
12. Add Dee’s "Fast Learner" cards to the skill check
13. All players play skill cards into the check, in player order,
starting left of the current player (Probation may be triggered by the
President)
14. Chief’s "Blind Devotion"
15. Shuffle Cards
16. Reveal Cards
17. Six’s "Human Delusion"
18. Cally’s "Quick Fix"
19. Skill Check Abilities: Red Tape, Trust Instincts, Protect the
Fleet, Broadcast Location, By Your Command, Special Destiny, Force Their
Hand, All Hands on Deck, Quick Thinking, Dogfight, Install Upgrades, Dradis Contact, Bait, A Better Machine, Personal
Vices, Violent Outbursts, Exploit a Weakness (order decided by current
player, and only one of each). Note that several of these are activated
at this step, but have an effect later; i.e., once they are activated,
they WILL have the effect later, even if they are removed from the check
by another skill
check ability
20. Daybreak reckless resolution (turn over top Treachery card; if
not 0-value, discard it; if 0-value, draw the next Treachery card and
resolve skill check abilities on both cards, then discard them)
21. Trigger Consequences
22. Total Strength, taking into account All Hands on Deck, Establish
Network and Adama's "Inspirational
Leader"
23. Declare Emergency
24. Determine Outcome (Pass, Partial Pass, or Fail)
25. Receive Miracle token from A Second Chance (if the current player
is eligible for that)
26. Change of Plans
27. Process Outcome, taking into account Iron Will
28. Process Install Upgrades
29. Adama’s "Command Authority"
30. Discard Cards
31. Activate Cylon Ships
32. Process FTL Icon
33. Discard Crisis
Card
Notes:
- This sequence also works
for activating board locations with a skill check associated to
them, but in that case the first eight steps and last three steps
are ignored. Naturally, Step 9 (Political Prowess) is only used for
location activations.
- When playing skill cards
into the check, note that (1) A player who is in a Cylon location or
in the Brig cannot play more than 1 card; (2) an infiltrating player
(except Simon) cannot play more than 2 cards; (3) Gaeta cannot play
more than 3 cards; (4) Cally cannot play
exactly 1 card unless she is in the Brig; (5) Doral cannot
contribute on another player's action step; and (6) Simon must play
1 card face-up, and can play a maximum of 2 cards (or 3 when
infiltrating).
- There are situations in
the game when multiple crisis cards can be played, for instance by
Cavil using his OPG, or by using Exodus' State of Emergency. In such
instances, "Process FTL Icon" does not mean that the Jump
Track is advanced, but that players remember that the Jump Track is
advanced at the end of the turn. I.e., the Jump Track can advance
multiple times in a turn, but these advances all happen at the very
end of the turn. This, of course, is only relevant for the
expansions, in which FTL icons on crises that are played with
Caprica are activated.
- This answer collates many
of the other answers which occur in this UFAQ.
Q: Is Cally (or any other player, for
that matter), allowed to perform basic arithmetic and add up the total
value of cards played into the check before she chooses whether and how
to apply her Quick Fix?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, by way of InfoCynic, thread) Yes. Players are allowed to add and
subtract the revealed strengths on Skill Cards before proceeding to the
"Total Strength" step. "Before totaling strength"
refers to the step, not actually doing the math. As with all abilities
that interrupt the normal resolution of steps during the game, Cally must be given a reasonable opportunity to use
her "Quick Fix" ability before moving on to the next step.
By extension, we must assume that all players will get a reasonable
opportunity to use their abilities, and cannot be denied the opportunity
to use them because a player decides to rush the game along.
Q: If the second option on "Fulfiller of Prophecy" is
picked on Roslin's turn, does she get two new
crisis cards to choose from? And what if Baltar
picks it during his turn: does he get an extra Delusional Intuition draw?
A: (Text on character cards): Yes and yes, the second choice on Fulfiller
of Prophecy restarts the whole "draw a crisis and resolve it"
process, so both their abilities activate again (Roslin's
character card says "when you draw a crisis card..." and Baltar's says "after you draw a crisis
card...").
Q: If a Cylon uses Caprica and draws two crises, one of them being
"Fulfiller of Prophecy", and he then chooses to play
"Fulfiller of Prophecy" and picks the second option, does he
then get two new crisis cards to choose from?
A: (Zach T, FFG, to infocynic) Fulfiller
of Prophecy sends you to the Activate Cylon Ships step. Since this step
doesn't exist, no additional crisis cards are drawn. This is a
rather odd way of phrasing the answer, because the general rule would say
that if you cannot do some part of the resolution of a crisis, you have to
do as much as you can. Still, he could have said that there is neither an
Activate Cylon Ships nor a Resolve Crisis Step, and achieve the same
final answer. So, in conclusion, if a Cylon on Caprica selects Fulfiller
of Prophecy and then chooses the second option, absolutely nothing
happens. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: What exactly is the "Resolve Crisis Step"? This term
only occurs once in the rulebook (without explanation) and on the
"Fulfiller of Prophecy" Crisis Card. So what is it?
A: Considering other answers that FFG has supplied, it looks like the
"Resolve Crisis Step" is an alternate name for the "Crisis
Step". Why an alternate name? Failure of the proofreaders, probably.
Q: How exactly does the 'Activate Heavy Raiders' icon work,
especially when there are Centurions on board?
A: (official rules):
1. If there are any Centurions on board, move them all
one space forward (move a stack together -- there is no limit to how many
can be in one space).
2. If any Centurion is on the last space, the game
is over; Cylons win. STOP --> you are done
3. Are there any heavy raiders on the (main) game
board?
1. YES: Are there heavy raiders next to the Viper
launch areas (on the main game board, a.k.a. sectors 5 and/or 6)?
1. YES: Is the number of heavy raiders on those
areas less than or equal to the number of remaining Centurion tokens?
1. YES: Place one Centurion on the first space of
the boarding party track for each such heavy raider, then remove these heavy raiders from the board.
Go to step 3.1.3.
2. NO (not enough Centurions): The current player
chooses which heavy raiders, that are next to a launch
tube, board Galactica until all Centurions are on the boarding
party track. The heavy raiders next to a launch tube that cannot board
because of a lack of Centurion tokens stay on the main board, without
moving. Go to step 3.1.3.
2. NO (no raiders next to
launch tubes): Continue to next step.
3. For each heavy raider NOT ADJACENT to a viper
launch area on the board, move it one sector closer to the closest launch
area. STOP --> you are done.
2. NO: Are there any basestars
on the (main) game board?
1. YES: Launch one heavy raider from each (unless
it has a damage token preventing this, possibly two if modified by a
Cylon Attack crisis). Did you run short of heavy raiders while playing
with the Cylon Fleet module from Exodus?
1. YES: Take the extra heavy raider(s) from the
lowest-numbered sectors on the Cylon Fleet board until you have taken
enough. If you still can't take enough, current player chooses where to
place them. STOP --> you are done.
2. NO (not using Cylon Fleet or didn't run out): STOP --> you are
done.
2. NO: Are you playing with the Cylon Fleet module
from Exodus AND are there no Centurions on board?
1. YES: Are all the heavy raiders already on the
main game board and/or Cylon Fleet board?
1. YES: Advance the pursuit track (place Civ(s) if needed). Did the pursuit track reach
auto-attack?
1. YES: STOP--> you are
done.
2. NO (not auto-attack): Take the contents of the
single sector with the highest number that also contains a heavy raider
and place on the main game board. STOP --> you are done.
2. NO (all heavy raiders not already on main and/or
Cylon Fleet board): Roll the die and place a heavy raider on the Cylon
Fleet board in the indicated location. Advance the pursuit track (place Civ(s) and/or handle auto-attack if needed). STOP --> you are done.
2. NO: (Not playing with Cylon Fleet module OR at
least 1 Centurion is on board): STOP --> you are
done.
Base
game
Q: Can "Legendary Discovery" trigger the New Caprica
phase if it takes you to distance 7? If so, what happens to ships that
were on the board at the time? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of DCAnderson): If you
are at distance 6 and pass Legendary Discovery, remove all civilian ship
from space areas and place them in the locked pile at New Caprica. All
other ships remain on the board. Reset the jump track. When Galactica
returns to orbit, set up the Battle of New Caprica, but do not remove any
ships from the board. The current player chooses where to place ships if
there are not enough left in the reserves.
Pegasus
crises
Standard crises
Q: In Training Snafu, it says "damage 3 vipers in space areas
or in the reserves". Do you chose a
location? (i.e., can you pick space areas if you only have 1 or two
vipers flying) or do you just lose three vipers and have to choose where
they come from? Can you split the loss between space areas and the
reserves (must you if you don't have at least 3 in space areas?) (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) The
current player makes the choice of which 3 vipers to damage. You can mix
and match from any vipers on the board or in the reserves. (By
implication, I take that to mean that you will always damage 3 unless
there are not 3 available to damage. You can't get out of damaging 3 by
choosing space areas when there aren't 3 there.)
Q: If a Crisis card says "damage Galactica twice", can
the current player choose to damage Pegasus?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of David Goldfarb) Yes, and he can choose and
resolve each token before choosing the next. (By implication, this
may also apply to the Cylon reveal power: "Can Damage
Galactica", though the five tokens to choose from have to all be
drawn from the available ones before the Cylon makes his selection)
Q: Besides a viper or weapons control, how can you kill Scar?
(numerous threads)
A: (Compiled from rulings by Corey and Tim to various users, summarized:) Any effect
which involves a die roll
to determine whether you may or how many raiders you may destroy, as long
as the result of the die roll is a 7 or 8. This includes Pegasus Main
Batteries, nukes, Best of the Best (Exodus skill card), or similar
effects. This excludes cards which permit destroying raiders without a
die roll, such as Authorization of Brutal Force or the Miraculous Return
Crossroads Card (Exodus).
Q: If a game effect requires all players to discard and then draw
one treachery what is the order of this? Can a revealed Cylon use a
"Sabotage" just drawn on a treachery card just discarded?
A: (Tim, FFG, by way of Danath) Each player
discards and draws in turn starting with the current player and
proceeding clockwise. A Cylon player would be able to play a
"Sabotage" card he has just drawn if, later in the turn order,
a human player discards a Treachery card.
Q: If the current player gets executed by a crisis (e.g., Verdict
of Guilty), what happens with the Activate Cylon Ships step and the Jump
icon? And if she chooses Boomer as a replacement, does she get to use the
Reconnaissance ability?
A: (Rulebook) Execution of the current player in an Exodus game means
that the turn ends immediately, i.e., before Cylon Ships are activated,
before the Jump icon gets processed, and before Boomer's Reconnaissance.
However, in the Pegasus rulebook this abrupt ending of the turn is not
mentioned, so in a Pegasus game, in principle all these steps do take
place. Daybreak does not introduce executions, but if you mix Daybreak
with Pegasus or Exodus, you use the rules for the included expansion
(whereby Exodus trumps Pegasus, as Daybreak states that loyalty cards are
handled as in Exodus when that expansion is mixed in).
New Caprica crises
No questions.
Super crises
Q: On "Lured into a Trap", which happens first, the jump
or the execution(s)?" (thread)
A: (Tim, FFG, by way of vorakesh) The jump
(including resolving the sleeper phase [or the Crossroads phase from
Exodus]). Note that the execution(s) are still resolved, even if this is
the last jump to win the game, and the humans will still lose if
execution(s) drop any resource (likely morale) to 0.
Q: How does "The Farm" work when combined with Daybreak
Miracle abilities?
A: (FAQ) Human players can no longer use their miracle abilities.
Cylon leaders can still use their miracle abilities when they are not
Infiltrating. Miracle tokens can still be used for other effects, such as
activating locations on the Rebel Basestar game board. Re: Questions we want answered
Exodus
crises
Q: Who places the civilian ships for Medal of Distinction if the
CFB isn't be
used?
A: (FAQ) The Admiral places the ships in any space area or areas he
chooses. If players are using the Cylon Fleet option, the CAG places them
according to the usual rules for ship placement. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Q: Can pilots in the Brig launch if the top option of "Return
to Duty" is selected?
A: (Tim, FFG, to infocynic) No.
You cannot escape the Brig this way. Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Daybreak
crises
Q: When must players discard cards to activate vipers for
"Gravity Well" (Event Horizon CAC)?
A: (FAQ) Each time a pilot activates his viper it is considered an activation and
he must first discard a Skill Card. When a player uses Command, he must
discard two Skill Cards to use both activations. If resolving a card that
allows a player to activate a viper, he must discard a Skill Card for each activation.
If a player uses an action that allows him to move and/or attack with a
viper, such as “Maximum Firepower” or “Full Throttle,” the action is
treated as only 1 activation.
Moving a viper as part of a players Movement step or as a result of the
move granted by an “Executive Order” card is not an activation and does
not require a player to discard a Skill Card. Re: Questions we want answered and Re: Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)
Destinations
Base
game
No questions
Pegasus
Q: For the "Gas Cloud" destination, must the three
crises be placed all on either top or bottom, or may the player split
them between top and bottom in any order he chooses? (thread)
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) The
player may split them and put them in any order in any combination.
Q: If the "Mining Asteroid" destination causes you to
reach New Caprica, do the ships added by "Scar" (crisis card) stay
on the board?
A: (Corey, FFG, to infocynic) Yes,
this counts as ships placed by a destination card.
Q: If the "Mining Asteroid" destination is played, which
player looks through the discard and crisis deck? Can they look at the
previously buried cards?
A: (Tim, FFG, to danath) When
the Mining Asteroid Destination card is drawn, the current player should
look through the discard pile first and then the Crisis deck.
Exodus
Q: If you arrive at the Ionian Nebula (or New Caprica) via the
Lion's Head Nebula, do you get to keep the extra 2 FTL steps?
A: (FAQ) Yes. For New Caprica: Players set up the New
Caprica Phase during the "Kobol
Instructions" step of Jumping the Fleet, and then advance the Jump
Preparation track by 2 after the "Reset Jump Preparation Track"
step. For Ionian Nebula: Players resolve the Crossroads Phase
during the "Kobol Instructions" step
of Jumping the Fleet. The rules for the Crossroads Phase tells players to
skip the "Reset Jump Preparation Track" step, but players
should still advance the track by 2 after that step would be resolved,
even when it is skipped. (The rationale for this answer is
complicated, see the thread.)
Quorum
cards
Base
game
Q: If a player is targeted by an Arrest Order during the New
Caprica phase after Galactica has returned to orbit, where does he go? (thread)
A: Corey, FFG, by way of Twekkie: Players
on New Caprica go to detention, otherwise to the Brig.
Q: What happens to Presidential Pardon after it is played?
A: (Tim, FFG to infocynic)
Presidential Pardon should be discarded after use. Re: Questions we want answered
Pegasus
Q: Can "Consult the Oracle" (Quorum card) be used to
look at the loyalty deck (pre-sleeper)? What about the agenda deck? (thread)
A: (FAQ): Players cannot choose the Loyalty deck or the Agenda deck.
If using the Daybreak expansion, players cannot choose the Motive deck.
Q: Can an infiltrating Cylon be the target of the Assign Vice
President card? (thread)
A: (FAQ): No. But an Infiltrating Cylon Leader may be given other
Quorum Cards such as “Assign Mission Specialist” or “Assign Arbitrator”
when they are played. When a Cylon Leader ends his Infiltration, he
discards any Quorum Cards he was given without effect.
Exodus
No questions with official answers. Some questions about
Resignation, with general consensus being that if someone other than the
President (or Ellen using her OPG) is playing Resignation, the person they
give the Presidency to will stay the President.
Loyalty
cards
Base
game
Q: Can an
sympathizer (core game version) use the new Resurrection Ship text to
draw a Super Crisis, then play it later using Caprica?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of Twekkie) Yes
to both.
Q: If player A gives an executive order to player B, for his first
action player B activates FTL Control which triggers the sleeper-agent
phase, then player A becomes the Sympathizer and automatically reveals as
a Cylon, does player B still get to perform his second action?
A: For State of Emergency, the designers have ruled that if the player
who plays SoE during the execution of the SoE reveals or gets executed, the other players still
get to take their SoE actions (elsewhere in
this UFAQ). By extension we may assume that for this simpler case, the
answer is "Yes, player B can perform his second action before the
turn ends." The same would hold, by the way, if player B would use
his first action to execute player A, or if player A manages to reveal as
a Cylon on player B's first action (e.g., player A is Apollo and player B
uses Command to launch a viper, which Apollo then boards with his AVP
ability, after which he uses his bonus action to reveal).
Q: Can a Cylon with the "send someone on Galactica to the
Brig" reveal power use this on a player on New Caprica or Pegasus?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of vampyrefate) No, the
card says someone on Galactica, and those locations are not on Galactica.
Q: Can the "Send a Character to Sickbay" reveal power be
used on someone already in Sickbay?
A: (Corey, FFG, by way of David Goldfarb) Yes.
Pegasus
Q: Can the Sympathetic Cylon have loyalty cards?
A: (Tim, FFG, to ackmondual) Normally,
no, because he must pass any other loyalty cards he has when he reveals
as a Cylon. However, with Exodus, it is possible to receive this loyalty
card at distance 7 or more, in which case you would not pass off the
other loyalty cards.
Q: What happens when a cylon with the
"Can Damage Galactica" reveal power reveals on someone else's
turn, when Pegasus is in play?
A: (FAQ) For each of the five damage tokens drawn, the current player
chooses whether to draw a Galactica or Pegasus damage token. The player
that revealed the Loyalty Card then chooses which two of those five
tokens to resolve.
Exodus
Q: If multiple Final Five loyalty cards are inspected
simultaneously (e.g., with Baltar's OPG or via
execution), what happens?
A: (FAQ): All effects of the Final Five Loyalty Cards must be
applied, even if the player examining the cards or the character whose
cards are being examined is executed. The current player chooses the
order in which the cards are resolved.
Q: If an unrevealed Cylon has a Personal Goal loyalty card at the
end of the game, do you lose the resources on it?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to infocynic): Yes.
He is still a human player by the game terms, although he still wins or
loses with the Cylons because he has a Cylon loyalty card.
Q: If a Sympathetic Cylon has a Personal Goal card (see discussion
under Pegasus for how this could happen) at the end of the game, do you
lose the resource on it?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to ackmondual): Only
if he is infiltrating (because he counts as human).
Q: When required to look at a loyalty card, can you choose
yourself if you are otherwise a legal target for the crisis (to avoid
triggering Final Five effects)?
A: (Tim Uren, FFG, to infocynic): Not
unless no other legal choice exists. If you are President and Admiral and
must look at the President or Admiral's loyalty card, nothing happens,
but if you are not Admiral and the same choice happens, you must look at
the President's loyalty card(s).
|