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Lincoln’s War Errata – as of Feb. 25, 2014 (v1.6) 
 
General setup corrections: 
The following General counters have the wrong setup hex shown (corrected in Vassal): 

- McDowell starts in Washington (1903) and not hex 0903. 
- Fremont starts in Kansas City (0103) and not hex 0203. 
- Note that the “USCT” annotation on the General Hincks counter indicates that it is not set up at 

start but rather (per 5.0) is set aside and not used until the Emancipation Proclamation (see 19.1). 
 
Player Aid card correction: 
Random Results Table, Cavalry Raid note below table should read : “+1 to die roll result for cavalry 
generals with activation 1 (13.2.1), -1 to the die roll result if cavalry is out of supply; both conditions can 
occur simultaneously.” (corrected for Vassal) 
 
Card corrections: 
US card 34 and CS card 36: “Sharpshooter row on the General Casualty table” 
 should read “General Casualty row on the Random Results Table” (on the Player Aid card). 
US card 69: Add at start: “The US player sets this card aside in his campaign card pool.” 
CS card 73: All Assassination rolls are successful on a result of 6 as per rule 7.1.9.1. 
 
Map correction: “Chicago 2.4” should read as “(Chicago) *.4” (see rule 2.3). 
 
Rules corrections: 
 
(2.3) Unique City Effects : Washington and Richmond – Add the following: “The cities of Washington 
and Richmond and forces within them cannot be attacked on turn 1.” 
 
(7.1) Purchasing: Add to paragraph: “All in-supply generals at the beginning of the administrative phase are 
eligible for a single promotion per turn either by purchase or draft promotion, but never both.”  
 
(8.1.2.1) Ironclad Asset : The third sentence is amended to read: "A Confederate ironclad prevents a Union 
force from moving through any of the river sides of the hex it occupies. The river transfer of troops may not 
bypass confederate ironclads or enemy held ports.” 
 
(10.2) Rename title to read: Draw Cards and Card Play and start the first paragraph with “Players now draw 
cards.” 
 
(10.6.3.2) This paragraph is removed. 
 
(12.3) Stacking: Add at the end of the paragraph: “NOTE: If a major army is not commanded by a 3-star 
general, the following options can used to resolve the command issue: 1. Rail enough units out to reduce the 
stack to a minor army before Operations; or 2. Rail in a 3-star general; or 3. Promote a promotable 2-star 
general from within the stack.” 
 
(12.10) Force moving by water route : Remove "This is not to be confused with Amphibious Assault 
Movement (see 14.0)".  Instead, the sentence should read: "In both cases, the friendly 
ports must not be separated by a CSN asset or an unfriendly port.  If they are, the movement is not allowed." 
 
(13.3.1) Resolving Cavalry Harassment: Example: In the third sentence, the word NOT is removed.  It 
should now read: “If the force continues moving adjacent, he may place another 2 IT on it.” 
 



Lincoln’s War Errata – 25 Feb. 2014 (v1.6) 
 

(16.3.1) Restriction on the Confederates in the North: Replace “in a combat against a defender in Union 
territory.” with “in attacks into hexes or defense from hexes located in Union territory (north of the red 
line).” The rule should read: “The Confederate player may not use CSP in attacks into hexes or defense from 
hexes located in Union territory (north of the red line). For the purpose of this rule, Kentucky and Missouri 
are not considered Union territory but rather Confederate territory.” 
 
(16.5) Compare Combat Strength: Example. Change St. Louis defense from 3 to 2 (as it is on the map) and 
adjust the Confederate CSP card value to 2.  
 
(16.6.3) Major Victory: Delete the last sentence (i.e., the second mention of General Casualty and Disaster 
Check).  
 
(16.8.3) Disaster Symbols: whenever the word attacker appears, it should be read as victor and the word 
defender should be read as loser. (The language is correct on the Player Aid.) 
 
(16.9.1) Retreat Path : The first sentence has been changed to read: “A force’s order of retreat is into a 
defensible position: an unoccupied friendly city or mountain hex, or across a river. If forced to retreat into a 
friendly occupied hex, it must then move an extra hex into an unoccupied hex and place an IT on the force it 
moved through." 
 
(21.3) Victory Determination : Control of Kentucky and/or Missouri earns VP for both CS and US; 
Missouri requires 4 out of 5 cities.  That segment of the table should read: 
 
Control of Kentucky 3 VP (requires 3 of 4 cities) CS/US 
Control of Missouri 3 VP (requires 4 of 6 cities) CS/US 

Playbook corrections: 

(22.1) Lee’s 2nd Invasion of the North : Setup  
Union – replace card 56 with card 55 (Sedgwick)  
Confederate – replace card 58 with card 57 (Letcher) 
 
(22.4) High Water Mark: Setup: Placement of USA Generals 
Change “Hex 714 New Orleans” to read “Hex 614 New Orleans” 
 
(23.2.2) Change “an activation/attack/defense rating of 1–1–1” to read “an activation value of 1 and an 
attack/defense strength of 1–1.”  
 
(29.0) Tournament Scenario :  

- BUTLER and a garrison marker in New Orleans (hex 0614) 
- US Fleets – 2 off Beaufort 

 
Back Page : Supply Flowchart : Major Army -> Yes -> In supply if connected to: Friendly towns with SP 
equal to # of stars in the force. 


