Arkham Horror

Rules for Vassal

Main>>Other Rules>>Skills>> Evading Monsters >>Combat>>Casting Spells>>Investigator Status>>Closing/Sealing Gates>>Monster Limits/Outskirts>>The Terror Track>>The Ancient One Awakens!

When an investigator attempts to move out of an area containing a monster, or ends his movement in such an area, he must either fight the monster or evade it.

An investigator may attempt to evade a monster by making an Evade check. An Evade check is a skill check using the investigator's Sneak value. The check is modified by the monster's Awareness value, which is printed in the upper-right corner of the monster marker's movement side. The difficulty of the Evade check is always 1 unless the monster has a special ability that states otherwise.

If the investigator passes the Evade check, he evades the monster and the player may continue his turn as normal, whether continuing movement or interacting with the area. If the investigator fails the check, the monster immediately deals its combat damage to him and combat with the monster begins.

Example: Ashcan Pete moves from the Merchant District into Northside, where a Star Spawn is waiting for him. Pete wants to continue moving to the Curiositie Shoppe, so he must evade the Star Spawn. Pete's current Sneak is 4 and the Star Spawn's Awareness is -1, so he rolls three dice, hoping for at least one success. If he passes the check, he has evaded the Star Spawn and may continue moving. If he fails, the Star Spawn damages him for 3 Stamina and he enters combat with it.

An investigator may remain in the same area as a monster after evading it. He simply remains where he is and does not have to enter combat with the monster this phase. This allows an investigator to enter a gate in the game location as evaded monsters. Such an investigator could (if able) evade the monsters during the Movement Phase, and enter the gate during the Arkham Encounters Phase.

Example: In the example above, if Pete successfully evades the Star Spawn, he could choose to remain in the Northside area without fighting it for now. However, once the next Movement Phase takes place, he'll have to deal with the Star Spawn once more (by either evading it again or fighting it).

Example 1: Here, Amanda moves from the Woods to the Uptown Streets where the Dhole is waiting for her. Amanda wishes to continue moving to the Southside streets, so she'll have to make an Evade check. Her Sneak is currently 2, and the Dhole's Awareness is -1, so Amanda will roll 1 die, hoping for a success.

Example 1A: Should Amanda fail her Evade check, the Dhole immediately deals its combat damage to her, and she loses 4 Stamina. If she's still conscious, she then has to make a Horror check, and if she survives that, she'll have to decide whether to fight the Dhole or try to flee from it again. Even if Amanda defeats the Dhole somehow, her movement is over at this point.

Example 1B: Should Amanda pass her Evade check, she successfully slips past the Dhole, and her movement can continue as normal. In the illustration, she continues on her way to the Southside streets.

 

If there is more than one monster in an area, the investigator must evade each monster in turn, in any order he chooses. If he fails to evade a monster, the monster deals its combat damage to him and combat with the monster begins. If he defeats the monsters in the area that he has not yet either fought or evaded. Regardless of whether or not any further evade attempts succeed, the investigator's movement is finished as soon as he fails even one evade check.

Evade: If the Star Spawn in the example above was also accompanied by a Shoggoth, Pete would need to evade both of them to keep moving to the Curiositie Shoppe. If Pete decides to evade the Star Spawn first and fails the check, he can no longer move. Assuming he wins the ensuing combat with the Star Spawn, he must still either fight or evade the Shoggoth.

Sometimes monsters appear as the result of a location or gate encounter. An investigator can evade these monsters just like any others. However, these monsters never remain on the board after the encounter is resolved. If an investigator evades such a monster, immediately return the marker to the monster cup.